Driver of the Year Announcement 2017

Jim Rogers of Roadrunner Charters receiving Director's Choice Driver of the Year 2017 Award

LUBBOCK, TX JULY 1, 2017 - Director’s Choice is excited to announce the first recipient of our annual Driver of the Year Award.  Congratulations to Jim Rogers and Roadrunner Charters out of San Antonio, TX, for going above and beyond to enhance the travel experience of our student groups.

Mr. Rogers was nominated by several Director’s Choice student group leaders for being “awesome” and “outstanding” during the spring 2017 travel season.  All motorcoach drivers who cared well for a Director's Choice group traveling March – June 2017 were eligible to win.

Jon Locke, owner and CEO of Director's Choice says the Driver of the Year Award was born from the need to focus on great motorcoach experiences. “We are making it a priority to celebrate and thank the dozens of great drivers who make a real difference for our traveling students,” said Locke.

Jim Rogers of Roadrunner Charters receiving Director's Choice Driver of the Year 2017 Award

Directors Choice, a student travel and performance events company, takes over 55,000 students each year to destinations across the globe.  Director’s Choice considers their motorcoach suppliers an extension of their own company, that's why they are bringing attention to those individual drivers who make their student trips a meaningful and memorable experience.

Locke says he is encouraged by the dozens of driver nominations from group leaders and how the motorcoach industry has embraced the Driver of the Year campaign,  “My hope is that this small initiative is the beginning of a big industry wide change that rewards our faithful suppliers and makes great memories for our young travelers.”

For more than 20 years, Director’s Choice has helped educators deliver memorable performing arts experiences.  As an accredited member of SYTA (Student & Youth Travel Association), Director’s Choice meets strenuous ethics, safety and solvency requirements and is a long time advocate for the student youth travel industry.